BBO Discussion Forums: Expected gain from using regular partnerships - BBO Discussion Forums

• 2 Pages +
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Expected gain from using regular partnerships IMPS

#21 User is offline   Fluffy 

• World International Master without a clue
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2013-May-04, 03:10

I had a related experience on Thursday, when my partner got sleep and could not play the first boards.

I catched attention of a lady, who was chatting around whom I've never seen before, I asked her if she knew anything about the game, she doubted but said yes.
I asked her to sit for a bit, and she said: -ok, but I don't play any conventions, 5 card majors.

Thinking I was facing a total beginner I sit down wondering if I wouldn't do better with just the normal 40% for missed rounds.

First hand I preempted agresively on third position and they missed a game (glad she knew what a preempt was).
Second, she jumped to 3 over my 1 opening, I had no clue what was going on so I bid 3, she bid 4. Obviously the LOL on my left who had been present when we were talking about agreements, asked me what 3 was so what was, and complained that I had no answer.
So what was 3? She was making a strong jump shift!, she even complained when missdefence allowed me to make 12 that she should bid more. Her hand was not really strong: xx Axx x KQJxxxx ,680 was a top anyway.

Third one 1-(2)-3 and I knew it was invitational, so we got to the right spot, another top.
Opponents missed another game next board. Blatantly.

It turns out she had stopped playing after her childs were born some 23 years ago slowly turning to golf, but before that she was an international tournament director. I found it funny how she evaluated a 10 HCP hand as strong jump shift, and right she was, she made 8/13 tricks herself!, evaluating a hand like that comes from years of experience.