BBO Discussion Forums: Weak Jump Shifts by responder - BBO Discussion Forums

Page 1 of 1
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • You cannot reply to this topic

Weak Jump Shifts by responder How to employ them?

#1 User is offline   starfruit 

• PipPipPip
  • Group: Full Members

Posted 2007-January-23, 21:13

Hi, I've recently agreed to play weak jump shift by responder with a new partner.

However as I've never tried it before I wonder what's the "standard" for the treatment.

And :
1 - 3//
1 - 3//

Are these played as wjs? Or are some of them played as splinters?

#2 User is offline   ohioply 

• PipPip
  • Group: Members

Posted 2007-January-23, 21:50

over 1minor 3h or 3s is a splinter wjs over 1minor is 2h/2s
1c-3d is also splinter

more info on splinters
http://homepage.mac.com/bridgeguys//Conven...s/Splinter.html

#3 User is offline   SoTired 

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Group: Advanced Members

Posted 2007-January-24, 09:19

Only single jump shifts qualify as a weak jump shift. Double jump shifts are splinters.

Many play that single jump shifts from major to minor (1H 3C or 1H 3D or 1S 3C or 1S 3D) have special meaning so they are excluded.

Some play 1S 3H has special meaning, so that is excluded.

Some use 1C 2D and 1D 3C as versions of a minor suit raise when playing inverted minors, so that is excluded.

A few use 1H 2S as a special bid, also.

When someone says "Weak J/S" I think it prudent to ask, "Which ones?"

Next, what about in competition? Like 1C (1S) 3H or 1S 2C 3D?

The other question is "How weak?"

Most play about 0-5 HCP, or weaker than a 1M response. Some play other ranges like 3-6, 0-2, or whatever. Some play no outside A or K.
It costs nothing to be nice -- my better half

#4 User is offline   mikeh 

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Interests:Bridge, golf, wine (red), cooking, reading eclectically but insatiably, travelling, making bad posts.

Posted 2007-January-24, 10:49

There are different considerations to think about.